U-Solar Wins SECI’s EPC Services Auction for a 5 MW Solar Project at Tuticorin Port

The project is expected to help avoid 6,500 tons of carbon dioxide emissions annually


U-Solar Clean Energy has said it has won 5 MW of grid-connected, ground-mounted solar projects at the V. O. Chidambaranar Port Trust at Tuticorin, Tamil Nadu, in a tender floated by the Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI).

The Bengaluru-based solar developer and engineering, procurement, and construction services provider said it received the letter of intent from SECI on November 24, 2020. It did not provide details about the tariff at which it won the CAPEX (capital expenditure) project. Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the project.

“The (project) at Tuticorin Port Trust will not only help to save energy bills but also help reduce dependency on grid power and reduce carbon footprint,” said K. R. Harinarayan, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of U-Solar Clean Energy.

The company said that the 5 MW solar power project is expected to help avoid 6,500 tons of carbon dioxide emissions annually. It is expected to generate about 6.75 million units of clean energy per year.

The company said that it has about 100 MW of projects in its pipeline.

U-Solar has worked for private projects for reputed independent power producers across India for the last ten years and has participated in competitive bidding for government tenders since 2020. The company has plans for international expansion in 2021, focusing on the ASEAN, OCEANA, and MENA regions.

SECI floated the tender in July 2020. The scope of work includes the design, engineering, supply, construction, installation, testing, and commissioning of the projects and providing ten years of operation and maintenance services. The projects had to be commissioned within nine months from the date of notification of award.

According to Mercom’s India Solar Tender Tracker, about 14 MW of solar tenders have been floated for ports in India from agencies, including the New Mangalore Port Trust, Kolkata Port Trust, and Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust.