21 Countries in the Indian Ocean Region Pledge for a Common Renewable Energy Agenda

Member countries will work for the promotion and transfer of technology, joint capacity-building, research and development in solar energy


In all, 21 countries of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) have adopted the Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy in the Indian Ocean Region.

It was adopted at the second IORA renewable energy ministerial meeting held at the second Global Re-Invest India-ISA Partnership in Greater Noida, India.

The declaration calls for collaboration among IORA member states in meeting the growing demand for renewable energy in the Indian Ocean littorals, development of a common renewable energy agenda for the Indian Ocean region and promote regional capacity building.

As per the declaration, member countries will work for the promotion and transfer of technology, joint capacity-building programs, research and development activities in solar energy and exchange of best practices, strengthening of public private partnerships in renewable energy, collaboration among IORA member states and the member nations of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).

Apart from these, IORA member countries will also collaborate with the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) and undertake the expansion of the Global Renewable Energy Atlas.

The Indian Ocean Rim Association was set up with the objective of strengthening regional cooperation and sustainable development within the Indian Ocean Region with 21 member states and 7 dialogue partners. India, Australia, Iran IR, Indonesia Thailand, Malaysia, South Africa, Mozambique, Kenya, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Bangladesh, Singapore, Mauritius, Madagascar, UAE, Yemen, Seychelles, Somalia, Comoros, and Oman are members of IORA.

The second edition of Global RE-Invest was inaugurated on October 2, 2018 in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Secretary General of the United Nations Antonio Guterres, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Minister of Power R.K. Singh.

Earlier, Mercom reported that the Government of India pledged $1.4 billion to fund the development of solar projects in 15 African and South Asian countries that are part of the ISA consortium at the inaugural conference of the International Solar Alliance (ISA) held in New Delhi.

Image credit: R.K. Singh via Twitter

Nitin is a staff reporter at Mercomindia.com and writes on renewable energy and related sectors. Prior to Mercom, Nitin has worked for CNN IBN, India News, Agricultural Spectrum and Bureaucracy Today. He received his bachelor’s degree in Journalism & Communication from Manipal Institute of Communication at Manipal University and Master’s degree in International Relations from Jindal School of International Affairs. More articles from Nitin Kabeer