No Hike in Delhi’s Power Tariff for FY 2020-21 Due to COVID-19 Disruptions

The DERC has also waived a 20% surcharge

September 1, 2020


The Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission (DERC) has announced that it would not raise the electricity tariffs for the financial year (FY) 2020-21 due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

In its press statement, DERC said that the new electricity tariff would be applicable in Delhi from September 1, 2020. The Commission has waived off a 20% surcharge under the time of day (ToD) tariff (tariffs that vary by time) for September 2020 to support non-domestic, public utilities, and domestic consumers due to the ongoing pandemic.

The current electricity tariff rates for domestic consumers of Delhi are ₹3 (~$0.041)/kWh for usage up to 200 kWh, ₹4.5 (~$0.061)/kWh for 200-400 kWh, ₹6.5 (~$0.088)/kWh for 400-800 kWh, ₹7 (~$0.095)/kWh for 800-1,200 kWh, and ₹8(~$0.11)/kWh for consumption over 1,200 kWh.

The Commission’s notice added that it would carry-on with the subsidized tariff rates for electric vehicles and electric rickshaws to enhance pollution-free transportation in the city.

“Tariff for charging stations for electric rickshaws or electric vehicles on single-point delivery as notified in this tariff schedule should also be applicable for charging of batteries at swapping facilities provided that such swapping facilities are exclusively used for swapping batteries of electric rickshaws or electric vehicles only,” said DERC.

Last year, Delhi cut down the rates of charging stations for e-rickshaws and other electric vehicles. Residential charging stations were to pay ₹4.5 (~$ 0.065)/kWh instead of ₹5.5 ($0.07)/kWh since these were low tension electric supply. Public charging stations that are high tension (HT) points attracted a tariff of ₹4 (~$ 0.057)/ kVAh instead of ₹5 (~$ 0.07)/kVAh.

In April 2020, considering the COVID-19 pandemic and the repercussions it had on several services, including power supply, DERC had announced rebates and incentives on power bills raised between March 24, 2020, to June 30, 2020. It also reduced the rate of late payment surcharge (LPS) from 18% to 12% per annum for bills that are raised between March 24, 2020, and June 30, 2020. According to DERC, consumers making payments in the first seven days will get a rebate of 1% on the bill amount (excluding arrears), not exceeding ₹200 (~$2.63). The DERC added that an additional rebate of ₹20 (~$0.26) per bill would be provided if the consumer produces the meter reading.

Harsh Shukla is a staff reporter at Mercom India. Previously with Indian Express, he has covered general interest stories. He holds a Masters Degree in Journalism from Symbiosis Institute of Media and Communication, Pune.

More articles from Harsh Shukla.