India Joins the Club for Collaboration on New and Alternate Fuels

Platform to provide opportunity for fuel analysis and share resources for the country’s transport sector

November 12, 2018


The Indian government headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has ratified the membership  of Advanced Motor Fuels Technology Collaboration Programme (AMF TCP) under the International Energy Agency (IEA) on May 9, 2018.

The primary aim behind New Delhi joining AMF TCP is to facilitate India’s entry into advanced motor and alternate fuels’ market. This move is likely to bring down emissions and achieve higher fuel efficiency in the transport sector.

Apart from this, AMF TCP will also provide an opportunity for fuel analysis, identifying new and alternate fuels for deployment in transport sector, and allied R&D activities for reduction in emissions in fuel intensive sectors.

Other benefits of participating in AMF TCP are shared costs and pooled technical resources.  It is also likely to help avoid duplication of efforts and strengthen national research and development capabilities.

Moreover, it will provide an information exchange which will cover the best practices, provide a network of researchers and help in linking research with its practical implementation. After India becomes a member, it will initiate R&D in advanced biofuels and other motor fuels.

In May 2018, the central government’s cabinet, headed by Narendra Modi, approved the National Policy on Biofuels – 2018. Biofuels in India are of strategic importance as they augur well with the government’s ongoing initiatives, such as Make in India, Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, and Skill Development.

According to the government’s estimates, 10 million liters of E-10 saves ₹280 million (~$3.86 million) of forex at current rates.

AMF TCP is an international platform for co-operation among countries to promote cleaner and more energy efficient fuel and vehicle technologies and works under the framework of International Energy Agency (IEA). India has “Association” status since March 30, 2017.

India is the16h member of AMF TCP. The other member countries of AMF TCP are the U.S., China, Japan, Canada, Chile, Israel, Germany, Austria, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Spain, Republic of Korea, Switzerland, and Thailand.

Recently, India’s Ministry of Science and Technology, and the IEA signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) which aims at enhancing innovation for the clean energy transition. The parties signed the agreement in New Delhi.

Nitin is a staff reporter at and writes on renewable energy and related sectors. Prior to Mercom, Nitin has worked for CNN IBN, India News, Agricultural Spectrum and Bureaucracy Today. He received his bachelor’s degree in Journalism & Communication from Manipal Institute of Communication at Manipal University and Master’s degree in International Relations from Jindal School of International Affairs. More articles from Nitin Kabeer